Books Oh Glorious Books! – Personal Review of A Game Of Thrones By George R.R. Martin

Cover of A Game of Thrones (Sourced from http://iceandfire.wikia.com/wiki/Category:Book_Covers)

I began reading A Game Of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, late last year and finished it very early January. I had purchased it on my Kindle as I had heard a lot of positive talk round the book and the series as a whole, and after reading so many dystopian books one after the other, I felt I was in need of a different genre. (Though I still adore the dystopian genre!!) The idea of dragons, castles, and good old-fashioned kings and queens got me hooked – and boy am I glad it did!

I’m not gonna lie, the prologue was so exciting that after that, the first few chapters were a little slow for me personally but after about the second chapter, the book had all my attention. I found this had the perfect balance of some humour, magic, tradition, well written battles and of course the aspect of honour. I felt (and still do) that is one of the few books that had me guessing the whole way through. I was still on the edge of my seat, hungry for the next page for every part of it. George R.R. Martin certainly knows how to surprise you the whole way through!!

Overall, I believe that this book is a must read, for everyone. I feel that it will captivate anyone, not matter what your chosen genre is. The book is well written, well thought out, exciting and emotional – an excellent five-star book in my opinion.

Once I have read some other new books I have bought, I will certainly be returning to this series in order to read Clash Of Kings. (I received the whole boxset for christmas from my boyfriend 🙂 – so excited!) Before that time I will be enjoying watching the first season of the tv show…which by the way is just as good. It also have Sean Bean in it and on the front of the boxset…could I be anymore happier??

I hope you guys and girls enjoyed my long-winded review and got something out of it, and hopefully if you haven’t already, you will check out the book 🙂

Happy reading,

Love Bella xxx

*This is my own personal opinion and not a sponsored*

Leave a Reply

