A Day In The Rainforest

Living in Cornwall, we have access to the Eden Project. Just a short train and bus journey and we can be immersed in the rainforest or the Mediterranean. If you are unaware of the Eden Project, then I can tell you that it consists of massive biomes or just big green houses. It was built within a clay quarry and offers visitors the experience of a rainforest and the Med along with teaching you how the environment and plants from around the world. Even if you’re not totally interested in the education part or understand the science part (like me) it’s still well worth a visit. I love going there for the flowers and tasty food! It makes a great day out which we experienced on the bank holiday.

Be warned, this post will be a lot of photographs. Like a lot…just to warn you 😉

An overview of the Eden Project
An overview of the Eden Project

 

Colours in the rainforest dome
Colours in the rainforest dome

 

Jamie was very intrigued
Jamie was very intrigued

 

This little one was hiding from the rain
This little one was hiding from the rain

 

Such vivid colours!
Such vivid colours!

 

You wouldn't think that you were really inside!
You wouldn’t think that you were really inside!

 

Amazing plant!
Amazing plant!

 

My handsome man
My handsome man

 

 

So pretty
So pretty

 

Waterfall
Waterfall

 

Jamie quite enjoyed this part!
Jamie quite enjoyed this part!

 

Stunning flowers
Stunning flowers

After ‘exploring’ the rainforest, we both grew pretty hungry and soon remembered that we hadn’t eaten since 6am and it was about 1 pm and let me tell you, after that heat, we were pretty hungry! Situated between the rainforest dome and the Med dome is the Eden project’s main restaurant. For a hideous amount of money you can pick your main dish from a large selection then chose your sides and pick up a pudding. Regardless of the price the food is pretty tasty. 😉

 

Time for food
Time for food

 

The restaurant
The restaurant

 

 

A rather tasty raspberry cheesecake. I may of managed to sneak that pot into my bag and it may or may not be sitting in my kitchen....sshh...
A rather tasty raspberry cheesecake. I may have managed to sneak that pot into my bag and it may or may not be sitting in my kitchen….sshh…

 

 

Jamie picked a shortbread biscuit thing
Jamie picked a shortbread biscuit thing

 

 

To the Med!
To the Med!

 

I love the colour!
I love the colour!

 

 

After the main domes, we walked through the garden to what is called the core. I don’t have any pictures of the garden as it was pouring with rain (and when I say walk, I mean that we did that awkward shuffle half run thing that shows you want to get out of the rain but you have some dignity…) The core is basically a building where all the education and interactive parts of the Eden Project are.

A fridge wall with people's messages on  it
A fridge wall with people’s messages on it

 

Aren't we cute? I couldn't resist!
Aren’t we cute? I couldn’t resist!

 

THE SEED!!
THE SEED!!

 

Ouch
Ouch

 

It was soaking!
It was soaking!

 

This little guy shows just how wet it was when we came out. He looked like I felt
This little guy shows just how wet it was when we came out. He looked like I felt

 

Overall the day was lovely. We laughed and ate good food, Jamie got his dose of education and I got to see pretty flowers. With our initial ticket, we got a free annual pass. I am looking forward to visit again in the summertime, Halloween and at Christmas time.

 

Happy day out
Happy day out

Love Bella xxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

