Baking Hour – Chocolate Chip Cookies

So I love to bake. Its not secret. I am one of those people who at Christmas can’t resist making truffles, cookies, cupcakes and biscuits (and I am certainly a better baker than cook…). So  this Halloween I decided to try out a new cookie recipe and it turned out pretty darn well! Everyone (including the health conscious – hardly – ever – eat – people) gobbled them up. I felt I would share this recipe on here cause, well who wouldn’t want a chance to make delicious tasty cookies??…exactly.

The tasty cookies
The tasty cookies

A little disclaimer, I found this recipe on Organizedlikejen’s pinterest page and I do believe that she altered her recipe from Martha Stewart…so this isn’t an original from me! 🙂 …though I may have added way more chocolate chips…but I wanted to share it cause lots of people may not have seen her mention it but may stumble across this.

The ingredients needed:

2 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder

1 cup of unsalted butter at room temperature

1 cup of light brown sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract

2 large eggs

1 1/2 cup of chocolate chips

1 cup of m%ms

preheat oven to 350

In one bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt. then set this aside.  In a separate bowl combine the butter and both sugars until light and slightly fluffy. (The original recipe used an electric mixer with a paddle attachment. However, if like me you don’t have these, just use a wooden spoon initially to combine as much as you can and to make it easier to mix with a basic attachment on a medium setting).  To this mixture, you add in the eggs one at a time to fully incorporate them and the add the vanilla. Set your mixture setting to low. Slowly add in the flour mixture and make sure it is fully combined. Then with a spoon, mix in the chocolate chips and m&ms.

Put equally sized scoops of the mixture on to  parchment lined baking sheets, making sure they do not touch.

Bake these for 7-8 minutes then rotate, and bake for another further 7-8 minutes (please note with my oven I ended up baking them for about 13 minutes). What you are aiming for is a soft squidy  cookie in the middle with golden edges. After the designated baking time, remove, let cool for an hour on a rack and enjoy!

Where I accessed this recipe:

http://www.pinterest.com/pin/11822017743674431/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJedCahexL0

Love Bella xx

*All opinions are my own and this is not a sponsored post*

(a sponsored post for homemade cookies would be silly…)

Leave a Reply

