Books Oh Glorious Books – A Book Haul

Yes I bought more books. I will admit that I have Britney Spears singing ‘Oops!..I did it again’ playing in my head. I couldn’t help it. Honest. I totally blame all the book tubers on YouTube posting their bookshelf tours on the internet for us to freely watch. It’s totally their fault.

 

Rather a glorious pile of books
Rather a glorious pile of books

 

Anyway, getting to the point, I walked into Waterstones in order to buy books for my boyfriend and walked out with 5 for me and 2 for him. Oops.

However, on the good side, picked up a couple of books which are plain beautiful, one that I’ve been searching for, one which is a step out if my normal reading genre and one which was cheap and suits me down to a t.

Tequila Mockingbird
Tequila Mockingbird

 

 

One of the pages from Tequila Mockingbird. The Bloody Carrie.
One of the pages from Tequila Mockingbird. The Bloody Carrie.

Tequila Mocking bird by Tim Fedeale, is a quirky recipe book for cocktail lovers (like me 😉 ) and mixes them with famous literary work . He selects a variety of famous and amazing books and puts them with a cocktail. (along with the recipe of course…) There really are some brilliant recipes and if like me, you love cocktails and books, this little gem will have you smiling. Some examples include: Bloody Carrie, Rye and Prejudice and The Yellow Wallbanger. This little book is certainly a bit of fun and on the recipe side, a pretty good selection of cocktails.

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Well by Chris Colfer
The Land of Stories: The Wishing Well by Chris Colfer

The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer is the book I have been searching for a little while. I love Chris Colfer in Glee and when I read that he had written a book, I was automatically interested to see how he would write and if I would enjoy his work. I am really looking forward to reading this as it centres around fairy tales. Essentially, a brother and sister get sucked up into a world where all fairy tales are real. The story seemingly follows the twins on their adventure back home. I think this will be a cute, easy read which will remind me of my love of fairy tales.

The Wonderful  Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

 

 

I can't believe how beautiful this book is...
I can’t believe how beautiful this book is…

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz will constantly hold a place in my heart, both the books and film. I lose myself while reading about the adventures that Dorothy, the Tin Man, the Lion, the Scarecrow and Toto have though Oz. I have been looking at this ‘Penguin Threads’ copy of the Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum for a long time, stroking it longingly but never buying it. However, something in me decided that I did really need a 2nd copy of this story on my bookshelf specially when it looks this beautiful. Now I can stroke it when I want it and for however long I want.

 

Stoner by John Williams
Stoner by John Williams

 

I heard about Stoner by John Williams, on a YouTube channel. It seemed a little different that what I usually go for and I was looking for something real. With real emotions and problems which happen today. This book was first published in 1965 and I am surprised I never heard about it before now. It follows a mans struggles throughout life and I am excited to read something which may not always have good luck and magic fairy dust helping every step of the way.

 

Vogue, The Covers by Dodie Kazanjian
Vogue, The Covers by Dodie Kazanjian

 

 

One of the beautiful pages of Vogue, The Covers by Dodie Kazanjian
One of the beautiful pages of Vogue, The Covers by Dodie Kazanjian

 

I love fashion. I may not be the most stylish of people all the time, but I simply adore fashion. Going along that route, I have always loved Vogue. I saw this book and eventually persuaded Jamie that we needed a fashion based coffee table book. Not just a science one…This is a really stunning book. Its filled with all the covers of Vogue starting from the very beginning when they were using drawings 🙂 I love passing the time looking at all the wonderful pictures and being able to see styles change throughout the years. If you or someone one you know, loves fashion, this is worth the purchase. There’s some great art inspiration in this one.

 

Well that’s my haul. I would like to think it was an interesting and varied one. I will certainly be reading these bad boys out soon and hopefully make a few reviews. One of my goals this year is to actually write more blog posts this year…don’t laugh now….

 

What are your opinions on these purchases? Also any books you think I need to know about? Please tell me by leaving a comment you lovely people 😉

Happy reading,

Love Bella xxx

Leave a Reply

